College of Medical Sciences

You are welcome to the College of Medical Sciences. The College was created at the inception of the University in 1970, first as a Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy, but transited to a College in the 1973/1974 academic year. The College had two programmes, Medicine and Pharmacy, at inception and has grown steadily ever since. Today, the College consists of 3 Schools: School of Medicine, School of Dentistry and School of Basic Medical Sciences with each School having a Dean. The College: (1) organizes and offers courses of instruction leading to degrees, diplomas, certificates and other university qualifications in medical studies and such related studies as may be prescribed by the Senate; (2) conducts research in the field of medical sciences and other related studies; (3) arranges and organizes conferences, seminars, workshops and such like activities; and renders clinical and research services in many areas in collaboration with the Teaching Hospital.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *