About The College of Medicine

Office of the Provost

You are welcome to the College of Medical Sciences. The College was created at the inception of the University in 1970, first as a Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy, but transited to a College in the 1973/1974 academic year. The College had two programmes,Medicine and Pharmacy, at inception and has grown steadily ever since. Today, the College consists of 3 Schools: School of Medicine, School of Dentistry and School of Basic Medical Sciences with each School having a Dean. The College: (1) organizes and offers courses of instruction leading to degrees, diplomas, certificates and other university qualifications in medical studies and such related studies as may be prescribed by the Senate; (2) conducts research in the field of medical sciences and other related studies; (3) arranges and organizes conferences, seminars, workshops and such like activities; and renders clinical and research services in many areas in collaboration with the Teaching Hospital.

The School of Medicine offers the MB,BS degree; the School of Dentistry offers BDS degree; the School of Basic Medical Sciences offers B.Sc. in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, Nursing, Physiotherapy, Radiography and Medical Laboratory Science. The College also has an Institute of Child Health, Centre of Excellence for Reproductive Health, and Centre for Forensic Medicine, each with a Director. The Schools and Centres offer certificate courses and postgraduate diplomas, M.Sc.s and Ph.Ds, which are processed by the College Academic Board and awarded after approval by the Senate. The College Academic Board (made up of all Professors and Heads of Departments) is the highest organ of the College and takes decisions on academic matters (e.g. examination results and programme curricula) and policy issues. The School (Faculty) Board of Studies plays the same role at the School level.

The College is renowned for Cardiovascular, Respiratory, Biochemical/Nutritional, Renal researches and Genomic Science. In the Clinical Departments, there are many highly developed and sub-specialized units like Bone Marrow Transplant, Assisted Reproduction Technology, Neonatology, Nephrology, Therapeutics, Neurology and Neurosurgery, Plastic Surgery, Cardio-Pulmonary Surgery, Brachy Therapy, Dermatology and Rheumatology, Geriatric Medicine and so on. The College relates very closely with the University of Benin Teaching Hospital. The Teaching Hospital provides such facilities as are usually required and necessary for instruction of students of medical sciences in such subjects as are usually taught in the College, Schools, Institute, and Centres forming part of the University. The College has a large number of erudite Professors plus lecturers of other cadres in different specialties and sub specialties. The Academic and Administrative Head of the College is the Provost. He coordinates and has oversight of the Schools, Institute and Centres. The Deans and Directors report to the Provost and through the Provost to the Vice-Chancellor.


Professor E. Oviasu.
Provost, College Of Medical Sciences